RSS Feed

An Attitude of Gratitude

If you asked my friends and family to choose 100 words to describe me, risk-taker wouldn’t make anyone’s list. I like to take things slowly, mull over ideas, analyze them to death, and then consider all possible outcomes. If the opportunity hasn’t passed by then, I make my move. It should come as no surprise with an operating system like mine that it took 9 months to decide to begin my blogging adventure. The only way I could make this idea palatable was if I promised myself that I would only experiment with blogging for the summer and, in the event of public humiliation, the real me could hide behind Paprika.  Creating the blog on WordPress took another few weeks.  After all of that cogitation, I still had to find the mental energy and creativity to write a post.  Finally, on June 17, 2011, I clicked the publish button for the first time then demonstrated superhuman strength to suppress my urge to vomit.  Once my finger released that key, I knew there was no going back.  My words would be out there floating around the blogosphere never to be reeled back in. Anyone could read them, or no one would read them. I wasn’t sure which would have been worse.  Not knowing any other bloggers, I was in completely uncharted waters and had no idea what to expect from this experience.  I should rephrase that and clarify. I did have expectations; a very long list of bad expectations.

What never made my list of expectations was that one year later I would still be writing Good Humored and people would be willing to read it. I have a lot of people to thank for helping me reach this milestone and proving to me that sometimes, I am my own worst enemy. My friends and family were my first readers. They kept coming back each week even after I stopped bribing them to read. My mother-in-law, Rosemary, forced encouraged her friends to read my blog by inundating their e-mail inboxes until they gave in and subscribed. Soon after that, other bloggers started to find Good Humored. They left “likes”, took the time to write comments telling me how my story reminded them of something in their own lives or that I had made them laugh. They offered me awards and recommended me to their readers. All of that collective kindness and generosity gave me the confidence and encouragement I needed to keep writing. My expectations about the blogosphere couldn’t have been more wrong and it has left me at a loss for words, except for these two: thank you!

About Paprika Furstenburg

I was born with an overly developed sense of humor and poor coordination. The combination of these two character traits has taught me humility and given me the perspective to find the funny in everyday experiences.

79 responses »

  1. this is a bit late in coming, as i have been a blogging hiatus. but it comes from the heart. you have a gift, Paprika, and it is a joy to read your blog. am so glad you were freshly pressed on your “L’what” post, otherwise i probably would be missing out on all your misadventures. happy 1st blogiversary!!
     
    here’s to many more posts! 🙂

    Reply
  2. YAY! This is so cool! Happy Birthday 🙂 – ria

    Reply
  3. It’s summer and I’m trying to catch up on all the posts I missed. Happy Birthday and many more!

    Reply
  4. I am having exactly what you had 1 year ago, being new to blogging I feel like I am struggling to find my voice a bit, and also know no other bloggers! I think I am the biggest reader of my blog, rather than new people coming to having a look, mainly because I keep worrying about it! After reading this, (although I don’t expect the same success) makes me realise that everyone has begin somewhere! So thankyou and well done! x

    Reply
    • I’m so glad you read this post and thought it was helpful to you as you begin your blogging adventure. Not only did I not know any other bloggers, I had never even read a blog when I started my own, so you are already ahead of me on the learning curve.

      Like you, I spent those early days reading my own blog over and over again. It’s a good thing WordPress doesn’t count the statistics of visits to your own site 🙂

      Reply
  5. I am late to wishing you happy birthday, sorry. I am slow on my reading list catch up this past week. Bad bad bad.

    I do so enjoy your blog though, it is okay to not be a risk taker at least in this case. Look at the wonderful outcome!

    Reply
  6. Happy 1st Blog Birthday! Quite a milestone and certainly one worth celebrating. Here’s to many more!

    Reply
  7. You not only made it to the one-year anniversary, but you’re a big success. No surprise to us! Congratulations!

    Reply
  8. Happy Birthday!!! So proud of you and keep the laughs coming!!!

    Reply
  9. Congrats on a year of perseverance. For me, blogging is my addiction 🙂

    Reply
  10. Congratulations Paprika! You are so confident and funny!

    Reply
  11. Happy anniversary– I look forward to each new post. The world can never have too much laughter. Many happy blogging years (and a book or two) to come!

    Reply
  12. Congrats on completing your first year. Onward and upward!

    Reply
  13. Happy Blirthday, Paprika.

    It’s been a great year, and your stories have only gotten better. You have such a wonderful, humorous-without-the-nasty touch to your writing. And you are so encouraging to me and other bloggers. You were one of my first followers, too!

    Thanks, Paprika. Many many more blirthdays, blogoversaries or whatever you want to call them!

    Reply
    • Thanks for being such a loyal reader, Elyse. I know how important it was/is to me to read encouraging comments from readers so I make an effort to pay that forward. Writings a lonely business without the comments from readers.

      Reply
  14. Happy Birth Day!!!! Congratulations my friend and thanks for keep me& all of us laughing!!!! Keep on writing!!!! BTW I’m with John and the book…………

    Reply
  15. Congrats on your first anniversary, Paprika! Mine is also near– I wonder if our blogs share the same sign? 😉 I know we do share plenty of other things — humor, friends, place, etc. and it’s been a joy to get to know you better through blogging. I’m glad this has turned out to be such a positive experience for you and I wish you many more happy posts!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Lisa. We do have a lot in common, but I’m guessing we would have never crossed paths in the real world. I’m glad I found your blog and then you as a friend. It’s helped me to grow as a blogger. It’s comforting to know I have someone I can talk to who understands blogging.

      Reply
  16. Good for you! I’m new to your blog and new to blogging as well. I could identify with your initial feelings. Are you a Libra by any chance? Cheers!

    Reply
    • Thanks! It’s been really great to hear from other bloggers that they had similar feelings when they began their blogging adventure. If I had known that when I started blogging, I might not have been so hesitant about starting. Thanks for subscribing. I hope you’ve been enjoying the posts.

      The real me is a Taurus not a Libra. Paprika was born in June so I’m not sure what the makes her.

      Reply
  17. Happy blogoversary, Paprika! Atta girl!

    Mine is next month — it must’ve been a good time to start a blog last summer 😉 Cheers!

    Reply
  18. Way to go my friend, I am so very proud of you! xoxoxo

    Reply
  19. The light of your column still burns bright after one year (it must be one of those trick candles that never goes out). To paraphrase that motel commercial, I hope you’ll “keep the light on for us.” Congrats and here’s to many more.

    Reply
  20. Hooray! Party on…but come back to write – you spice up the bloggersphere. ( and yes, the dead deer….drop dead funny.) Thanks for all the chuckles!

    Reply
  21. Happy Anniversary! I can’t wait to revisit my first year in blogging. It’s been a tremendously rewarding experience. Glad to have met you. I so enjoy what you do!

    Reply
  22. I’m so proud of you for sticking with it for the entire year, and I look forward to many more blog posts in the years to come.

    You forgot to mention the people who became subjects of your blog posts (ahem, me, ahem), but I already know that you are grateful. I’m more than happy to paticipate in the fun. Keep up the great work!

    Reply
  23. Congratulations!!! I am also glad you took the risk! I also never realized blogging would be so fun!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Taking the risk to do this has been quite a life lesson for me. I learned that I can step outside my comfort zone and instead of being uncomfortable, I wind up making my comfort zone even larger.

      Reply
  24. Congratulations, Paprika. I’ve enjoyed your humorous and thoughtful stories, and I look forward to many more.

    Reply
  25. Love your site!!!!!

    Reply
  26. And thank you to you. I started my blog several months after you and you were one of my first subscribers. You already knew the importance of the like button and comments for fragile beginners and were so kind to encourage. My favorite of your posts is still the dead deer one although the hot toilet was good too. Keep them coming!

    Reply
    • I remember when you started your blog last fall. I love your blog and was happy to subscribe. I’m glad we’re both still at it.

      Thanks for letting me know which of my posts were your favorites. I don’t want to disappoint you, but I’m hoping there isn’t a sequel to the deer post.

      Reply
  27. Congratulations on the milestone 🙂

    Reply
  28. I am so glad that you took the chance and blogged that first blog. You have brought smiles to many a face. You’ve got a talent that should be expressed.

    Cheers to the next blogging year!

    Reply
  29. “Paprika” – you ARE a risk taker, always up for a challenge, no matter what gets in your way. I’ve known you since we were babies, sharing Opa’s big, black, leather chair. (You remember?) Anyway, I’m very proud to call you my literary hero, dear cousin!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Renee. You’re right. I definitely don’t shy away from a challenge I’m presented with, but I’ve never thought of myself as a risk taker. It’s nice to know you think I am. I absolutely remember sitting in Opa’s chair with you. There’s no one else I would have wanted to share it with.

      Reply
  30. Paprika, you are definitely the spice of life in this family!!! xoxo

    Reply
  31. Yeah! Happy Birthday, Pappy! Many more to come. Now, about that book…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

