RSS Feed

Humor, Hope and the HUG Award

I have received the Hope Unites Globally (HUG) Award © created by Connie Wayne from Hope for Today and given to me by Kianys of 30 Years of Growing Pains. Once you read her nomination below, you will see why I’ve offered her a position as my personal cheerleader. Sadly, she declined. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that there is no salary.

I have previously described her as the Aretha Franklin of comedy and I stand by that description. What I haven’t told you about Paprika Furstenburg yet is that she has a truly genuine way of perceiving the different and the unusual with a loving heart. Above all she can laugh at herself as much as at or rather with others. I truly believe that humor is one of the pillars of the hope, especially when delivered with such warmth and intelligence.”

Once I learned what this award represents, I immediately felt undeserving of such an honor. It’s about hope and making the world a better place. These are much loftier goals than a humor blog could aspire to. I feel like a court jester among serious people doing serious business. Laughter can brighten your day or lighten your mood, but I just didn’t see a connection to hope. Looking for inspiration, I researched quotes on humor. As it turns out, there have been a lot of very smart people who think humor and laughter are elements of hope. Who am I to question their wisdom?

Kianys always begins her blog posts with a quote. Since she has given me this award, I think it is only fitting to steal honor her idea by beginning my acceptance of this award with a quote.

 “Laughter is the sun that drives winter from the human face.”  Victor Hugo

There is so much negativity in the world today. Thanks to the constant availability of news, you could spend your day immersed in stories of dysfunction, tragedy and loss. Laughter is hard to find. We need to look for it in our daily lives so that we can create our own sunshine in the midst of a storm. When I began writing Good Humored I wanted to share the laughter I find in unusual places and hoped that it would bring joy to others. My readers have been kind enough to take the time to comment and tell me that I usually manage to accomplish that goal.

 As a recipient of this award I am permitted to nominate anyone who is deserving. I’m choosing to share this award with one blog that I follow, not because there aren’t other blogs that are worthy, but because the list would become ridiculously long if I didn’t limit myself.

Rumpy Dog is a champion for animals’ rights and not just the cute and cuddly animals. He has even written about the plight of rats and turtles. Rumpy shares the blog with his four-legged family members and his two-legged mom, Jen, who I suspect does most of the typing. They are a voice for creatures that can’t speak (or type) for themselves.

Mark Twain once said, “I can live for 2 months on a good compliment.” With this award and Kianys’ exuberant compliments, I’m thinking I can go at least 6 months.

About Paprika Furstenburg

I was born with an overly developed sense of humor and poor coordination. The combination of these two character traits has taught me humility and given me the perspective to find the funny in everyday experiences.

40 responses »

  1. Congrats and well deserved. LOve the quotes by Hugo and Twain – and your classy response.

    Reply
  2. Let’s celebrate with a nice long hug later. Laughter is optional.

    Reply
  3. Congrats!!!! Big hug!!!

    Reply
  4. Congratulations on your acceptance of the HUG Award and already nominating someone else to receive it. Thanks for leaving me a link on my site, so that I can try to keep up-to-date with the nominations. Blessings, Connie at A Hope for Today, http://ahopefortoday.com.

    Reply
  5. Congrats, Paprika! You deserve a HUG and a KISS!

    Reply
  6. Many congratulations on your HUG Award! Well deserved! Wanted to share with you that I also had some doubts about my choice of where I spend most of my time. I have been involved in Community Theatre for over 40 years. I started to wonder if I had wasted my time over those many years… and I discovered that people need to laugh, to be entertained, to feel things, to be touched. While I still think teaching, nursing, other volunteer work etc. is so worthwhile, I think what I do is important too. All the arts add so much to the quality of life! So keep up the good work. I think your blog is really special … Kinz

    Reply
    • Thanks, Kinz 🙂 It’s been wonderful to hear how many people think laughing is such an important part of life. I think so, but didn’t realize so many others did too. Community theater is a great way to share your talents. We have a friend who acts in local productions and we’ve always enjoyed the shows he is in. It’s more affordable and more intimate than seeing a big production Broadway show.

      Reply
  7. Congratulations for this great award Paprika!!!

    Reply
  8. Wow! We are so honored! Thanks so much for your kind words and for your support. But most importantly, thanks for all you do to help animals! It’s a big job, but if we each keep on keeping on, the successes will keep coming!!!!!

    Reply
  9. Congrats on such a special award. It is well deserved!!! Thank you for bringing a little laughter and sunshine into our lives!!!! 🙂

    Reply
  10. Paprika! Congratulations! Much deserved! All this and freshly pressed too! Thanks also for introducing me to Rumpy Dog. As a huge animal lover, how could I have missed that blog!!!!

    Reply
  11. Your commentary is certainly a wonderful prescription for what ails the world….I should know, I’m a doctor (and I didn’t sleep in a Holiday Inn last night).

    Reply
  12. I’m glad you came to see it my way and I love the quote-homage (very cool quote) oh and most of all I’m thrilled you nominated Rumpy Dog.

    She should have been on my short list too (awarding with a sleepy mind is not advisable!)

    Hope needs happyness and humor and just for the record I never declined the cheerleading position – I was just hoping for a cute little outfit to sweeten the deal (or maybe some pom poms) 😉

    Reply
    • Who wouldn’t love being referred to as the “Aretha Franklin of comedy”? I’m definitely willing to throw in the pom poms if you accept the position. I thought you declined because you felt it undermined your credibility in court. Who’s to say I can’t have a whole squad, if people are willing?

      Rumpy Dog certainly deserves the award. I was happy to have the opportunity to share it.

      Reply
      • Hah – I figure I can go Clark Kent and hide it under my robe and such as part of my secret identity 😉 – So obviously, since I’m already doing the job, I might as well get an official title out this (can I list you as my reference for future career opportunities?) 😀

      • I’m glad you’ve finally accepted the position. Good idea to compare yourself to Clark Kent. Lawyer by day, cheerleader the rest of the time.

        You might not want to use me as a reference though. The only sentence I remember from my high school German classes is, “Mach das Fenster auf, bitte.” Why do I only remember such a strange sentence you might ask? My seat was next to the window and my class was early in the morning. I have no idea how to say, “Close the window, please.” I’m guessing the student who sat in my seat at the end of the day knows that sentence.

  13. Kudos to paprika for yet more well deserved praise! You are the sunshine of our family! Xoxo

    Reply
  14. CONGRATS! I totally agree with John! I soooooo look forward to reading your blog especially after a day of stress. It always manages to make me laugh and look at life differently…………so I guess it does instill hope. You deserve this award! Thanks again for sharing and bringing laughterr to our lives!

    Reply
  15. Congratulations on the award. I am a firm believer in the power of humor and laughter. With the world the way it is these days, and the state of the economy, we need to find humor wherever we can. Keep up the good work of brightenen people’s days.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for your kind words. It’s really amazing to me to know that the words I write can brighten someone’s day and add some happiness to the world. That is the best compliment I can receive.

      Reply
  16. Enjoy your award. I love Rumpy Dog, thanks for introducing us.

    Reply
  17. “humor is one of the pillars of hope” … and Paprika Furstenberg is a shining example of humor done with a certain flair and aplomb and tenacity … congrats on your HUG Award. I couldn’t agree more that humor can save the day – a smile in our heart is a lethal weapon.

    Reply
    • Thank you for your flattering compliment. I’ll be adding your name to the short list of candidates for my personal cheerleader position 🙂 I’ve been so focused on the writing aspect of the blog and not making a complete fool of myself that I didn’t really think much about the importance of laughter in our lives. Through their comments, my readers have reminded me what a difference a giggle can make.

      Reply
  18. R.E.S.P.E.C.T. Laughter is much needed in our daily lives and you definitely have an original way of looking at the world and finding the humorous. It’s what makes this blog fun to read and what makes you fun to be around.

    Reply
    • Nice nod to Aretha, John. I’m not quite a diva. Give me some time and I’ll work on that 🙂 Saying I have “an original way of looking at the world and finding the humorous” is just a euphemism for saying I’m a bit off, isn’t it? I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog. Your support and encouragement was a key ingredient in giving me the push I needed to start it.

      Reply
  19. I think laughter is highly underrated as a method of helping others. And it doesn’t cost a thing!

    Congrats! You’re a talented writer and defintely deserve the award!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

