RSS Feed

An Affirmation

I don’t like to fail. To be fair, I’ve never heard anyone say that they enjoy failure. Often the fear of failing will keep me from trying something new. As I’ve gotten older more mature, I’ve realized that the reward for risking failure is learning what I am capable of doing. In June, I faced my fears about writing and began my blog.

It’s ironic that I’ve been given these awards from Dory whose blog , If I Were Brave, is about incorporating more acts of personal bravery into her life. Receiving this award is an affirmation of my bravery – a reward for venturing outside my comfort zone.

Over the past six months I’ve learned that these blogging awards are part Girl Scout badge and part chain letter; something you’ve earned through hard work and something you have to pass along. They don’t come with a book deal, but what they do come with is no less valuable. It’s like getting a gold star sticker from another blogger, only I can’t hang my blog up on the refrigerator to show it off. I’m grateful for each of my readers whether you are a subscriber or just visiting for the day. We all have busy lives and I appreciate the time you take to read and comment. I try to make your visit to Good Humored worthwhile.

These awards give me an opportunity to expand my blogging horizons by introducing me to new blogs and maybe even introducing new readers to my blog. In the hopes that you’ll discover something new, my blogroll has links to blogs that I look forward to reading. Take a peek at them. I’m sure you’ll enjoy reading them too.

If you want to learn 7 facts about me, please visit my post Who Knew for Paprika trivia. I’m not interesting enough to have 14 facts about myself so I have to reuse the same 7.

 

About Paprika Furstenburg

I was born with an overly developed sense of humor and poor coordination. The combination of these two character traits has taught me humility and given me the perspective to find the funny in everyday experiences.

27 responses »

  1. Love your blogs. As for names, since our last name is Hammer and we were right in the time of the Mike Hammer detective stories, our army friends at West Point called my husband “Mike.” But once back in civilian life he reverted to his real name. Since that name is now officially obsolete in the 21st century, we’re sorry he didn’t remain Mike Hammer.

    Ronnie

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for taking the time to read my blogs and leave a comment.

      Now you’ve got me totally intrigued about your husband’s real first name. A name that is obsolete in the 21st century – hmm…

      Reply
  2. Congrats on the awards, even more on acknowledging other bloggers. I’d like everyone to take a day out and just talk about other bloggers they admire/enjoy/revere/worship. Now to visit Who Knew.

    Reply
  3. Love Stuart Smalley!!!! And love your blog. Glad you stepped out of your comfort zone. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Bunny Mateosian

    Another good read. And congrats on the awards. I totally get your “gold star” feeling. We all need a good pat on the head once in a while! Bunny

    Reply
  5. I’m a new reader, but you have an honesty that I enjoy! Laughter is at the top of my priority list, so I’ll be back.

    Reply
  6. Well-deserved. I enjoy your blog so much–you are genuine and have an original writing style. Glad you took the blog plunge!
    Congratulations!

    Reply
  7. You considered yourself brave because you took a leap into something you felt may have resulted in failure, however I consider what you did as only natural because if you had asked me, I would have said you are indeed talented enough to be successful–no sweat!!!! And see, I was right…..Doctors don’t get paid the big bucks for nothing ;-)….Keep it up, I enjoy your humor, honesty, and insight.

    Reply
  8. I am so happy that you took this risk (along with many others lately) my friend! I enjoy each of your blogs and congratulate you on your success! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  9. “Rosemary” and “Basil” really love Paprika and Oregano!! And that’s the truth!
    We think you are both very brave!

    Reply
  10. Thank you so much for putting me on your blog roll! I have to admit that my computer literacy is some where in the same area as my literacy in Polish or Armenian. So, when I get a more computer literate friend to help me I too will have a blog roll and you will be on it!

    Reply
    • I’m so glad your like button on my blog led me to your blog. I’ve been enjoying reading your posts past and present.

      Good luck with the blogroll. When I started in June I would have thought a blogroll was something you had with butter and a cup of tea while you were writing your blog. It took me a few months to figure out what it was and how to add names to it.

      Reply
  11. Oh and I love Stuart. I throw out his catch-phrases often.

    Reply
  12. I’ve hesitated posting a formal “I won some chain letter awards,” as I figured nobody would care. I like your approach of referring to your blogroll instead of going through and giving the award out to 20 people. I don’t have time for that business (and I don’t understand how so many people seem to).

    Reply
    • I understand completely why you would be uncomfortable posting a formal “award winning” story. I felt the exact same way. If I’m being honest, I have that same feeling every time I hit the publish button regardless of the content. Why would anyone care? I wrote the post not for bragging rights or self promotion, but because I wanted to thank the bloggers who offered the award to me.
      As for referring people to the blogroll instead of adding 15 links, I can’t take credit for that bit of brilliance. I stole the idea from Dory of If I Were Brave.

      Reply
  13. Amen. I have found great blogs through these awards and have enjoyed the excitement and feel good feelings too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

