RSS Feed

Who Knew?

Who knew that on a humdrum Tuesday night I would get a surprise from someone I have never met? Not me.

Who knew what a Versatile Blogger Award was? I didn’t until the wise, witty and well-read philosopher/author of  Midsummer Dreams and Winter Tales , Jane Miller, enjoyed my blog enough to offer this award to me and proclaim herself to be Good Humored. 

Who knew that there are no monetary prizes or trips to tropical islands associated with this award? There are wonderful, intangible rewards like the opportunity to discover great blogs and feel like a member of a community of bloggers who love writing so much it makes their readers enjoy reading.

Who knew that with such an award comes responsibility? (See below for list of responsibilities.)

1.  Publicly thank the blogger who bestowed the honor upon me by putting a link to her blog on mine

2. Share the award with 15 other bloggers whose writing I enjoy so much I am always left waiting for their next post

3. Divulge 7 random facts about myself

Who knew that when I began writing Good Humored back in June  readers would find it, read it and enjoy it? Once again, not me. I am grateful to all of my readers for proving me wrong each time I click the publish button.

I’m still new to the world of blogging, but here are the blogs I look forward to reading. They’re in no particular order. I don’t play favorites.

Miss Um…Erica?!?!

Views and Mews by Coffee Kat

Belle of the Carnival

Rants, Raves and Ramblings

Main Street Musings

Slowin’ Down with Fast Eddie

I’m on the Bandwagon

Tinkerbelle

Not Quite Old

The Home Tome

What I Meant 2 Say

If I Were Brave

Paprika Trivia

1. I once broke my finger doing laundry. It was embarrassing to admit the cause of my injury to the doctor who treated me, but it was really fun to walk around for 2 weeks with my middle finger splinted in the upright position. It was like I had a doctor’s note to give the finger to the world.

2. hammock + good book + nap = perfect summer afternoon

3. My husband is planning to stage an intervention for my addiction to Vera Bradley handbags and HGTV’s House Hunters International.

4. In 1976 I won a gold medal in the Featherbed Lane Camp Olympics for the dead man’s float in the pool– proving that I can do absolutely nothing longer than anyone else in my age group. 

the one and only "Olympic" gold medal I will ever win

5. For a long time I have fantasized about driving heavy construction equipment like a bulldozer, front-end loader and a wrecking ball. How much fun would that be?

6. I was the shortest person in my high school graduating class. Diplomas were distributed in ascending height order. Technically, that made me first in my graduating class.

7. I have a husband and two tuxedo cats who give me a reason to smile and laugh every day.

About Paprika Furstenburg

I was born with an overly developed sense of humor and poor coordination. The combination of these two character traits has taught me humility and given me the perspective to find the funny in everyday experiences.

22 responses »

  1. Pingback: Caught Short Handed « Good Humored

  2. Pingback: Do You Know Anyone in Antarctica? « Good Humored

  3. Someone gave me that award and I broke the chain and now I am a large furry dog.

    Reply
  4. Who Knew Paprika was so versatile? I knew!

    Reply
  5. Wow You are a woman of many talents! You are awesome!

    Reply
  6. Thanks! You have always been very supportive and I appreciate it. I love your blog (and your husband’s post too.) Keep on blogging. Maybe the next award (in 35 years) will come with a trip to a tropical island.

    Reply
  7. Thanks! You do great blog!

    Reply
  8. Congrats! And Thanks! I also love a good nap in a hammock 🙂

    Reply
  9. Color this MIL very impressed and very proud!! Love the Gold Medal!!

    Reply
  10. Thanks for your compliments and your valued editorial input 🙂

    Reply
  11. Congratulations on your well deserved award, anyone who can make me laugh truly deserves an award! Thanks for the mention 😀

    Reply
  12. AWESOME! I have truly enjoyed your blogs and I am always looking forward to the next one! Congratulations! Like John I wonder “What’s next for Paprika?!”

    Reply
  13. First a Gold Medal and now a Versatile Blogger Award – what’s next? Well-deserved accolades, I am sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

