RSS Feed

The End of the Great Summer Blog Experiment

The purpose of any experiment is to gather information to discover something unknown. The whole process starts by asking a question. Of course, me being me, I didn’t have just one question; I had a dozen. I considered each one and realized that they all boiled down to the same basic principle: Could I write a blog without publicly making a fool of myself? I was leery about conducting this experiment, but decided I would try writing a blog just for the summer. Knowing I had a predetermined expiration date with the option to bail at any moment was the safety net that convinced me to proceed with “The Great Summer Blog Experiment.”

Once I had my hypothesis, I began preparing for the experiment. The first thing I needed was a title; one that would capture the essence of what I would be writing about. I brainstormed and believed I had finally come up with a winner. My first choice was a winner all right, because when I attempted to register that title, someone else was already using it. Six months of creative deliberation down the drain with the click of a mouse. That, alone, would have been enough to derail me from this experiment had it not been for a few friends who talked me in off the ledge. They rated my second, third and fourth place titles then sent me back to the drawing board to think of more. Good Humored is a much better fit than any of the contenders on my original list.

With the title secured, the next step was to set up the web page for the blog. I am a reluctant user of technology and am easily intimidated by it. I learn quickly, but am always afraid I will make some irreversible mistake. Perhaps this fear stems from growing up with a father who, whenever something stopped working, said, “What button did you push? You had to push something you weren’t supposed to for this to happen!” No amount of explanation would convince my dad that I had not been fiddling with the computer. To keep my technophobia in check, I decided it would be best to tackle the technical aspects of setting up the blog’s web page in baby steps. Every time I felt overwhelmed, like when I didn’t know what the hell a widget was or how to insert an image into a post, I walked away and gave myself time. I always came back, researched my questions and eventually figured out how to use the features I wanted. Although, I still don’t completely understand how an RSS subscription works. I guess it’s good to keep a little mystery in my life.

By mid June I was ready to conduct the experiment. It was time to sit down and start writing since that was the actual purpose of the blog. I had spent so much time focusing on the preliminary parts of this experiment that I hadn’t thought at all about writing. That’s when the next wave of anxiety struck. Questions and self-doubt plagued my fledgling experiment.  What would I write about? How often should I write? And, my recurring theme, what if no one reads the blog and I make a public fool of myself?  Some might argue that if no one is reading the blog, I am technically not making a public fool of myself; I would just be making a private fool of myself. Regardless of the public versus private humiliation distinction, this was an experiment and I had to try. Sometimes experiments are successful and sometimes they are not, but they always teach you something you didn’t know.

No experiment is a failure because you always learn something you didn't know before. (photo credt: Success Training)

So, instead of focusing on my worries, I focused on enjoying the process of writing. Then I did something very unlike me; I stopped worrying about topics for the blog. I decided to be very Zen-like in my approach and hoped the universe would provide me with topics. I refused to create situations just to gather fodder for the blog. I decided to keep my eyes open for situations that presented themselves to me. Voila! A bear meandered across the road on our vacation providing me with an ending and an image for “Bear in Mind.” Then, a hearse pulled into a McDonald’s inspiring “Death at the Drive-Thru.” 

Some stories seemed to write themselves while others took longer and required more effort. I agonized over word choice and obsessed over proofreading. I taught myself to walk away from a story. If it sucks at midnight, it will still suck in the morning and it can be fixed then, after a good night’s sleep. As summer progressed and I wrote each week, I learned that patience really isn’t a virtue; it’s a necessity, especially patience with myself.

Blogging is really a two-way street; requiring a writer and readers. I could write as much as I wanted and proofread until my eyes glazed over, but without someone to read the posts, this would be a solitary and unsatisfying experiment. The first time I clicked the publish button I wondered who would read my posts. I sent out an e-mail explaining “The Great Summer Blog Experiment” and asked my friends and family to participate by reading the first two posts. They willingly became my first readers. Many of them subscribed to the blog, suggested ideas and offered to send me on dangerous outings under the assumption that if something made me angry, embarrassed or frightened, it would make for a good story. In short, they offered me more encouragement and support than I could have ever expected.

Initially, I had 30 subscribers. My math skills are notoriously bad, but even I was able to calculate that by the end of the 12 week experiment, if all  my subscribers continued to read the post every week, I’d have 360 views. If I could reach that number by the end of the summer, I wouldn’t feel like I had humiliated myself. As it turned out, I had 360 views by the end of June! To say I was stunned at that response would be a gross understatement.

My first readers began sharing the blog with their friends through e-mail and on Facebook. People who had never met me found the blog. I’m grateful to the readers who took time from their busy lives to read my stories, leave a comment or click the “like” button. I’ve had readers from France, Italy, Australia and Britain. My stories have been to some places that I haven’t. It’s amazing to think about. By the end of August, I had 1,600 views – more than 4 times my original goal. They couldn’t all be from my mother-in-law returning to the site to re-read the stories.

I've crossed the finish line of "The Great Summer Blog Experiment." (image credit: http://4.bp.blogspot.com)

Labor Day is the unofficial end of summer and the official end date for “The Great Summer Blog Experiment.” The experiment is over and I discovered that I had more fun writing this blog than I ever imagined I would. I loved sharing the stories with you and reading your comments. Now it’s time to reflect back on my hypothesis, the question I tried to answer with this experiment.  Could I write a blog without publicly making a fool of myself? I’d say, based on the data collected, the answer is yes; apparently I can. But, how can I use all of this newly learned information? I gave that question serious consideration and have come to a conclusion. The hot weather of summer gives us all permission to slow down the pace of our lives, relax and enjoy ourselves. As the days get shorter and the weather gets cooler, our lives become hectic. I won’t have time to write every week and you may not have as much time to read. Fun and relaxation are harder to come by when we’re busy, but I think it is important to invite fun into our lives year-round. So, as long as I am having fun writing Good Humored and you’re willing to keep reading it, why should we stop?

About Paprika Furstenburg

I was born with an overly developed sense of humor and poor coordination. The combination of these two character traits has taught me humility and given me the perspective to find the funny in everyday experiences.

28 responses »

  1. Pingback: Search Party « Good Humored

  2. As a relatively new blogger i can relate to so much of what you went through! It takes a lot of hard work and the courage to put yourself out there. Kudos to you!

    Reply
  3. Great post. As a new blogger, you are an inspiration. Perhaps in four months I will figure out how to include pictures and other fun stuff and oh yes…have readers who aren’t relatives!

    Reply
  4. You are a wonderful writer and I loved laughing my way through your blog this summer. Please keep it up and keep us laughing!!!!

    Reply
  5. Congratulations and Bravo and Keep Writing even if it can’t be as much! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Don’t stop! The next ten months should give you plenty to write about.

    Reply
  7. Definitely don’t stop! Love the blog and look forward to each and every new story. Keep up the amazing work.

    Reply
  8. Thanks for the extra sunshine you’ve brought to this already sun-drenched summer. Looking forward to more of your humor anytime at all. Great job!

    Reply
  9. Long live Paprika…long may she write:) Can’t wait to see the next chapter in this grand adventure!

    Reply
  10. A great success! You can’t leave us hanging without the promise of more “Good Humored”. I am sure you will continue to find things that will spark your keen eye and wit!

    Reply
  11. What a huge success! I definitely enjoyed the stories and your humourous (thought provoking) perspective. I am hoping that even though summer is ending 😦 and although the months ahead will be hectic abd busy that it will provide experiences for more of your stories! I admire your courage and talent! Thanks for sharing your humor and I look forward to more fun reading in the months ahead!

    Reply
  12. My life is hectic all year-round, especially since I have a little girl! This is why I unfortunately haven’t had time to read all your posts, but the ones I did read I thoroughly enjoyed and have saved all the others for reading in the near future. The experiment was definitely a success and maybe the slower off-summer pace will actually help me catch up and make each new blog even more exciting.

    Reply
  13. Congrats! I started blogging this summer too and found that formulating a “plan” didn’t always work; when I sat down in the spare moments I had to write an entirely different subject was usually pondered online for the world to see. It’s been fun & it sounds like you’ve enjoyed it as well. Best of luck to you! 🙂

    Reply
  14. Sorry about the typos above. This why you should not respond at 11:24 at night 🙂

    Reply
  15. Keep it coming. They are worth a good laugh, and asome reflection at times. Congratulations! You experiment has yielded fun and tantalizing stories that engage the reader.

    Reply
  16. We thoroughly enjoyed and loved your blogs all summer and look forward to your continuing blog posts as the summer turns to fall, then the dread of winter, and the joy of spring! You are a star in our book!

    Reply
  17. “You had to push something you weren’t supposed to for this to happen!”
    Well,I guess that approach must have worked. It provided you with the abilities you possess today.

    Reply
  18. As any scientist can tell you, some experiments result in more questions being asked than answered; this one obviously did. And now that you’ve answered those questions, I’m very glad you’ve decided to continue as best you can. Looking forward to the next blog.

    Reply
  19. I would say your experiment was an absolute success. I found myself laughing out loud while reading them…. and yes, please continue because we truly need humor to get us through the next 10 months!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

